rockingyourrole

For women who Rock their Role in work and life

Female Breadwinners – feeling grateful?

Do you feel that you are living a life of gratitude?  Yes, maybe, not sure; wondering what I am talking about?

When you woke up this morning, you brushed your teeth; did you think about the person who made or sold you the toothpaste? They made it possible for you to keep your teeth clean. Perhaps you then went to the kitchen and had some cereal with milk; did you stop to think someone tended to those cows, to produce milk especially for you? Maybe then your post arrived; someone sorted that mail and then delivered it right to your door- you didn’t have to do anything.

These are just examples of things that we take for granted but should be thankful for and there are thousands of these occurrences every day that pass us by and that receive little acknowledgement.

Many would argue that there is little to be grateful for at the moment. The world is a bleak place in terms of unemployment, money and injustice. However, I’ve found is that gratitude is a valuable emotion that is so easy to show and doesn’t cost us anything. It can produce a domino effect- saying something nice could make someone’s day and cause them to spread that happiness. Archibald Cronin the Scottish physician and novelist notices:

‘Gratitude is something of which none of us can give too much. For on the smiles, the thanks we give, our little gestures of appreciation, our neighbours build their philosophy of life.’

I get the train a lot and I realised recently that after years of seeing the same face at the ticket desk, I hadn’t really shown any gratitude. Instead I would swiftly grab my ticket and dash off to meet my train, uttering the minimum number of words possible.  Recently I asked the ticket seller a question about the best way to my destination, she was really helpful and we began to engage in conversation; acknowledging each other as people.  You may say, that is her job but the sense of gratitude I felt and also received back has made my experience at the station so much better and perhaps improved her day as well, it’s just a shame that it took me years to slow down and realise the error of my ways.

I am not saying we all need to act like Gandhi, Mother Teresa or the Dalai Lama; inspirational people who have embodied what it means to be grateful and appreciate the good in the world even in the bleakest of situations, but we can take small steps towards those lofty heights.

I wonder what might be different in the world if we were all to show some gratitude and appreciation…

  • Perhaps an increase in our generosity of spirit
  • Maybe happiness would spread- developing self-worth in others has a domino effect
  • More positivity might prevail- instilling an attitude of hopefulness
  • Possibly more would become humble and considerate – causing less pain to others

I’d like you to try something – just for today – appreciate everything, even the smallest things, as together all of those tiny deeds are instrumental to your existence. Let me know how you get on.

My book Rocking Your Role – the ‘how to’ guide to success for Female Breadwinners, will be out in June 2012

If you want to chat, gain support and read the latest from other female breadwinners, join my Rocking Your Role LinkedIn Group

Or sign up for my newsletter or tweet me @jennifergarrett

Here are some further links to explore

http://cafegratitude.com/component/content/

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/emotional-fitness/201011/dr-bartons-top-10-things-be-thankful

http://tinybuddha.com/blog/25-awesome-things-we-take-for-granted-most-days/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,631 other followers

