rockingyourrole

For women who Rock their Role in work and life

Female Breadwinners – heard of MAKERS.com?

I have just come across this website and I had to share it. It’s a wonderful celebration of women.

MAKERS.com is a dynamic digital platform produced by filmmakers Dyllan McGee, Betsy West, and Peter Kunhardt, developed by AOL, showcasing hundreds of compelling stories from women of today and tomorrow. This historic video initiative features exclusive access to trailblazing women – both known and unknown.

Even if you only have 5 minutes to spare, go have a look at it, as there are video clips that are only 1 minute long, here are just a few I love:

Linda Alvarado says she stays away from four letter words: cook, iron, dust, wash! and has a modern husband.

Nikki Henderson talks about what it means to be strong, perhaps it’s actually being vulnerable?

Ellen Degeneres speaks eloquently about following the pack vs. following our heart

and there is so much more.

This celebration of women who have and are Rocking their Role in life is just what all women need. We need to know that women have led the way for us and we can lead the way for others, even if we do it by accident. I must say I have tripped into most of my roles in life, but have made the most of them.

If there is any film maker in the UK willing to craft a similar initiative to MAKERS.com , I would be delighted to invest my time as this is such a worthwhile initiative, not just for the present but also for the future generations of women coming through.

If I hadn’t already written my book Rocking Your Role – the ‘how to’ guide to success for Female Breadwinners, which will be out in June 2012, I would have added this as a vital reference for women.

If you want to chat, gain support and read the latest from other female breadwinners, join my Rocking Your Role LinkedIn Group

Or sign up for my newsletter or tweet me @jennifergarrett

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

