rockingyourrole

For women who Rock their Role in work and life

Don’t hate me coz I’m beautiful

Last night I was driving home from seeing a friend and turned the radio on to LBC, Nick Abbott was on air and he was referring to a study which was being featured in the Daily Mail. The study stated that women who go into business do so because they are unattractive and can’t get a man.

At first I was shocked by this. Nick Abbott was trying to think of an unattractive business woman and was finding it challenging. It’s easy to think of attractive women like Karren Brady, Angelina Jolie and Oprah Winfrey.

The insinuation is that women who can’t find love, find solace in business, this flies in the face of the statistics on the growing number of female breadwinners. These women combine love and career success!

As we all know beauty is in the eye of the beholder, confident, successful women are attractive in my eyes.

The question is if I was top model material would I have gone into business? If I am honest I probably wouldn’t do so until my looks started deteriorating.

So maybe if you are not in the top 1% of what the world considers beautiful other choices are open to you, business being one of them.

What do you think?

My book Rocking Your Role – the ‘how to’ guide to success for Female Breadwinners, will be out in June 2012

If you want to chat, gain support and read the latest from other female breadwinners, join my Rocking Your Role LinkedIn Group

Or sign up for my newsletter or tweet me @jennifergarrett

www.reflexion-uk.co.uk

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Don’t hate me coz I’m beautiful

  1. Remona on said:

    That’s daft.
    Some of the most beautiful women in the world are on the runway by day and still run businesses in perfume and cosmetic and clothing lines.
    And they manage husbands and homes as well.

    Business isn’t all about pushing papers across a mahogany desk while wearing court shoes and your papa’s old shirt and tie.

    A beautiful woman is one that is smart enough to know that with hard work and compromise she can to some extent have all the Bs, beauty, brains, a business and a boy (or big-daddy) to go home to. 😉

    • You raise an important point Remoan, what does business look like, if breadwinners can be women, I am sure we can transform the face of business too. Thanks for stopping by and commenting

  2. The reason Nick Abbott couldn’t think of an unattractive business woman is because there aren’t any! Beauty is indeed in the eye of the beholder and we all have different “attractive traits”. This doesn’t necessarily means, long legs or luscious lips; it can be that we are knowledgeable, confidant, engaging, have something to say that actually means something and can make a substantial contribution to the world. Now that to me is an attractive woman!

Leave a Reply

