rockingyourrole

For women who Rock their Role in work and life

Think it’s easy to come out of the closet – think again

BBC 3 recently contacted me as they were looking for young (in their opinion that 20-30 year old) female breadwinner for one of Cherry Healey’s shows.

The idea was that I would coach this female breadwinner through the process in my forthcoming book.

I frantically searched for women and actually found many, most were older, but a few were in the age bracket required.  All I spoke to wanted to engage in the coaching, whether to reflect on and celebrate their achievements; or to work on issues that had become apparent due to them being breadwinner, like unhappiness in their partner’s role as stay-at-home Dad, or guilt about not being around as much as they would like for the family.

Only one female breadwinner was initially willing to be filmed but even she has since changed her mind.

Why?

I always knew that being a female breadwinner was a taboo subject, but this exercise highlighted how much.  Women don’t want to offend their partners and put their relationship at risk by talking about it.  They also don’t want to be falsely portrayed as the men of the house.  In reality I think much of the issue is any female breadwinner willing to be filmed, would be talking on TV about something that has been so sensitive that they haven’t spoken about it at home yet.

Do you think more women should come out of the closet as breadwinners?

Should it stay a taboo?

I can’t wait to hear from you.

My book Rocking Your Role – the ‘how to’ guide to success for Female Breadwinners, will be out in June 2012

If you want to chat, gain support and read the latest from other female breadwinners, join my Rocking Your Role LinkedIn Group

Or sign up for my newsletter or tweet me @jennifergarrett

www.reflexion-uk.co.uk

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

