rockingyourrole

For women who Rock their Role in work and life

Speaking your truth

Last week I attended two days of training.  The first was on public speaking with Sarah Lloyd-Hughes at Ginger training . I am already a confident public speaker, I deliver training regularly to groups of leaders and have spoken at conferences, so I have had audiences of 8 to around 300.  However, I was looking to up my game and step out of my comfort zone.

The workshop certainly delivered, challenging me to deliver a talk on the “Inside of a ping pong ball” of all things, the unusual topic actually really inspired me and I found skills I didn’t know I had.  The series of exercises, theory, feedback and actually delivering short talks was a confidence boost and witnessing others in the group develop and shine was just as valuable.

It was never more evident to me that it is our uniqueness that makes us special.  As each person let their true personality, history and heritage come through, their performance and themselves grew before my eyes.  It brought home to me the crime it is not to truly embrace all aspects of who you are.

The advice I gave myself as a result is to speak my truth with power and passion, others will appreciate it!

Will you do the same?

My book Rocking Your Role – the ‘how to’ guide to success for Female Breadwinners, will be out in June 2012

If you want to chat, gain support and read the latest from other female breadwinners, join my Rocking Your Role LinkedIn Group

Or sign up for my newsletter or tweet me @jennifergarrett

www.reflexion-uk.co.uk

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Speaking your truth

  1. Hi Jenny, your dramatic presentation of the inside of a ping pong ball was fabulous! We were all spellbound by the story and the way you told it. I really enjoyed meeting you the other day. Wishing you great success with your book!

    Alex Yang (pen name of Yang-May Ooi) – http://www.fusionview.co.uk

  2. Thanks for the thoughts on the Foundations of Excellent Public Speaking day Jennifer – you really are an inspiring speaker, so look forward to LOTS more spicy and sharp words from you as the book launch approaches :o) x

Leave a Reply

