rockingyourrole

For women who Rock their Role in work and life

Make your own Jelly

I came across this concept while surfing the net. Have you heard of a Jelly?

Jelly was invented in 2006 by two IT freelancers in New York who were chatting one day about the drawbacks of working from home .  They decided to get a group of home workers together in one place where they could have free wi-fi access for work, access to refreshments and plenty of creative people to share gossip, knowledge and experience with. They did this in their apartment and its called a Jelly because they were eating jelly beans when they came up with the idea.

Since then 100’s maybe 1000’s of Jelly’s have taken place around the world, home workers, small businesses and freelancers usually take part, see Judy Heminsley’s site to find out everything you need to organise your own.

I am excited to say that I have organised a Hemel Hempstead Jelly which will take place on 25th May, 2012.

I approached a number of venues asking for a free space and wifi and the South Hill Centre came up trumps, next I loaded the event on Eventbrite which is fabulous for free events because there is no cost involved and it is completely automated and lastly I approached the local newspaper, the Hemel Hempstead Gazette who are going to come along and take some photos and write some editorial on the day.

Now, I just have to wait and hope others are as enthused as me by the idea.

If you’re living in the Hemel Hempstead area and work from home please come along, I’d love to meet you. You can book here

What do you think of this idea? Turn on or turn off? You can follow @UKJelly on twitter

Maybe I’ll organise one just for female breadwinners next time!

My book Rocking Your Role – the ‘how to’ guide to success for Female Breadwinners, will be out in June 2012

If you want to chat, gain support and read the latest from other female breadwinners, join my Rocking Your Role LinkedIn Group

Or sign up for my newsletter or tweet me @jennifergarrett

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

