rockingyourrole

For women who Rock their Role in work and life

Top 5 reasons why women don’t invest in their development

When I run my 30 minute Rocking & Shocking consultations, I help women to create a development plan for their future.  Their actions can range from something small, such as: reading a book and having a conversation, to researching job options and investing in long term development.

I’ve noticed a real reticence in women to invest in themselves.

Here are the Top 5 reasons that I hear.

  1. I don’t have the time

Really?  Do you have time to be sick, to drop everything if your boss or a client needs something urgently, for the trains to fail or your car to brake down.  The answer is no, we create the time we need, you shouldn’t be a slave to it.

You will never find time for anything. If you want time you must make it. – Charles Buxton

 2. I don’t have the money

So you cant afford it? Yet when I am in a room of women, they will have invested in expensive handbags, and smart phones and tablet computers.  Is it because these are obvious to the eye or valued more than investing in yourself? Training providers are really sympathetic to the current climate, have you checked out payment options and subsidies?

Investing in yourself is the best investment you will ever make. it will not only improve your life, it will improve the lives of all those around you.” Robin S. Sharma,

 3. I know it all already

You may be an expert in your role or in your field, but it is so apparent right now life just keeps changing. To lose your thirst for knowledge is like losing your thirst for life and to be so complacent as to think that you will continue to progress, improve and grow in your role without development is a mistake that I am sure that you have seen many others make.

Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever. – Mahatma Gandhi

 4. I am too exhausted

I have even said this one myself, but I have then found that a days training revitalises and energises me.  New ideas, strategies, new people are all ways of filling up your depleted resources.  Doing the opposite of what you normally do creates balance, so if you work alone, you should engage in some group development and vice versa.

 5. I think it’s going to be a let down

What you take out of any development is up to you. I recommend that  you do your research to make sure that it’s what you are looking for.

Make sure you know what you want from the experience and take responsibility for getting what you want from the development.

Do these top 5 reasons resonate with you, if so what will you do to challenge them?  Go on book that course, read that book, attend that online session that you were putting off and let me know how you get on.

I will leave you with a quote from Barbara de Angelis

“Women need real moments of solitude and self-reflection to balance out how much of ourselves we give away.”

I am Jenny Garrett, Executive Coach, founder of Reflexion Associates, a leadership and coaching consultancy and author or Rocking Your Role – the how to guide to success for female breadwinners. See my Certificated Rocking Your Role: Women Breadwinners and Entrepreneurs programme, it might be just the development that you’re looking for.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Top 5 reasons why women don’t invest in their development

  1. Five great excuses! I rather suspect that women don’t invest in their development because they don’t feel worthy! Most women are raise to be quite selfless and will therefore on most occasions, think that the time and time could be better spent elsewhere!
    Trisha Proud
    Partners in Solutions Ltd
    http://www.pins.uk.com

  2. It so True Jenny! We make more time and spend more time looking after our cars than ourselves! And you can replace your car if needed.
    Mia Hitchcox

  3. Julia Miles on said:

    Most of my women friends and associates do priotise their own development and invest in it regularly so I’m not sure this applies across the board any more.

    • Thanks for your comment Julia.

      It’s great when women prioritise themselves and I am delighted this is not your experience.

      Lets hope the article changes things for those who are not quite there yet.

      Warm wishes

      Jenny

  4. I definitely notice this!! My boyfriend is much more willing to invest in himself / his business whereas I’m weary of such investments but don’t have any problems dropping money on clothing etc…Thanks for the article – it’s time to change things!

    Studiopacity Graphic Design Studio

  5. Pingback: Top 5 reasons why women don’t invest in their development : Home Business Blogs

Leave a Reply

