rockingyourrole

For women who Rock their Role in work and life

Leadership Roles – How to Mentor someone

It’s no secret that I am a big fan of mentoring. I mentor women as part of the ASPIRE programme, the Cherie Blair Foundation, CityMothers and individuals that have approached me. I was very flattered to be shortlisted for the PRECIOUS Mentor of the Year in 2012.

I see mentoring women as a duty to that I am delighted to perform, when the chemistry is right and my capacity can cope with it.

Perhaps you have thought of being a mentor, but weren’t sure if you had the skills or how to start.  I came across this 3 minute video which I thought you would find informative

I’ll leave you with my top tips for mentors:

  • Get down and dirty – you can’t mentor from a distance, you have to get your hands dirty and understand the nitty gritty of what your mentee does.
  • Open doors – use your connections and your networks to open doors for your mentee.
  • Don’t let your mentee off the hook, keep them focused and on track to act.
  • Meet regularly – weekly or bi-monthly to keep the momentum going, the sessions can be short and sweet.
  • Be prepared to learn as much as your mentee does.

I really hope that it helps

I am Jenny Garrett, Executive Coach, founder of Reflexion Associates, a leadership and coaching consultancy and author or Rocking Your Role – the how to guide to success for female breadwinners. Find out more about me, my programmes, speaking engagements and training at rockingyourrole.com and sign up for my newsletter

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Leadership Roles – How to Mentor someone

  1. Pingback: Group offering mentoring courses to help make a difference | Inside Croydon

Leave a comment